jump to navigation

Congress2015 March 22, 2015

Posted by Robbie in Musings, News, Social Media.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

In a few days time I will be leaving for Canberra to attend four intense days at the AFFHO Congress for 2015. There’s been quite a bit happening personally, so preparations for my attendance has been a little haphazard.
However, I have been reading a bit of timely advice and taking note:

Keeping up with Congress2015 through Jill Ball at http://geniaus.blogspot.com.au/ and Pauline Cass https://cassmob.wordpress.com/

How to pack for every circumstance with Susie Zada …. http://justlovehistory.com/historians-backpack/

……And discovering that I really did need to get some, new up to date business/contact cards thanks to Judy Webster ….. http://genie-leftovers.blogspot.com.au/2015/01/top-3-things-to-do-before-genealogy.html

logo-Congress-2015-580x280

and now I have the Congress App (It’s iOS and Android friendly) as well….

The App allows for me to load up my personal programme of lectures and events and for timely updates to be sent straight to my phone or iPad (both of which will be packed with chargers according to Susie’s instructions!)

I’ve registered some of my research interests…. I need to go back and put in a few more names.  This event draws such a wide range of attendees, it would be a shame to miss an opportunity to connect.

The final part of my preparation for this event involves being right up to date with my online study commitments (UTAS and NIGS subjects underway and FutureLearn (Monash) about to start) and to resolve as many of the outstanding research queries I have on a project I am completing for my friend as I am to deliver her a preliminary report on my way to and from Canberra.

Having taken part in UTAS Introduction to Family History class with Dr Dianne Snowden  over summer, I was one of over 1,000 people who stepped back into formal study or undertook a university subject for the first time.  Many connections were formed and online groups were started – Facebook and Google+ – and some of us are getting together for a social evening during the conference.

Enough said…. its back to work for me…. counting the days!!!

Comments»

1. cassmob - March 22, 2015

Thanks for the mention – look forward to meeting you at Congress.

Robbie - March 22, 2015

You’re welcome, and I look forward to meeting you too!

2. GeniAus - March 23, 2015

Robbie – I haven’t got you on the list for blogger beads – if you’d like to wear some pls let me know and I’ll find you at Congress jillballau@gmail.com

Robbie - March 23, 2015

Thanks, Jill – I’d like that!


Leave a Reply

Geelong and District

covering local and family history in the greater Barwon region

The Wool Stash

Maldon, Victoria, Australia

Neil Vincent's Course Journal

UTAS Photography & Social Media Unit

