jump to navigation

Saturdays in the Sun July 11, 2016

Posted by Robbie in Musings.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Its the depths of winter here in Central Victoria.  This morning there was ice everywhere, mist in the valleys and early morning smoke from kitchen stove hanging in the air. It was crisp and bright with promise of a cold but clear day.

This is about as far away from summer as you can get.  I decided that I would spend the day scanning, sorting and filing some of the family archive images.  Despite my resident feline’s best attempts at disruption, I managed to get a small of work completed.

This image caught my fancy:

Day at the Beach Web

At a rough estimate, I would suggest that it was taken about 1959-60 and would have been somewhere like Sandringham beach.  The young man to the left of the image is my immediately younger brother, and I am the young lady in the fetching ruched bathing costume.  There are no annotations on the image to identify the other children but I suspect that the gentleman is a neighbour – his profile was almost instantly recognisable to me even after all this time.  The other children would then most likely be his two eldest sons.

Then there’s the odd dark mark in the sky….. Is it a bird? Is it a plane?

It was possibly a grain of sand on the lens…. whatever it was, it prompted memories of the brouhaha that always erupted with reports of UFO sightings.  Reports of strange lights, odd shaped flying crafts and weird looking creatures were a regular feature of news reports of my childhood.  I wonder whether the ease of access to affordable cameras and photography as a skill being more popularly spread post World War 2,  led to this explosion of ‘falsified’ images purporting to represent theses extraterrestrial beings.

Classic summer experiences of childhood like these bring back the pain of too much sun…. I was, more often than not, red raw by the end of the day.  There was always a tube of zinc cream about – but my fair skin just didn’t appreciate too long an exposure. These days,  I prefer wild beaches in the depths of winter.  No people about…. no sticky sand flies….. no risk of sunburn!

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Geelong and District

covering local and family history in the greater Barwon region

The Wool Stash

Maldon, Victoria, Australia

Neil Vincent's Course Journal

UTAS Photography & Social Media Unit

